Monday 19th February:

The women’s 9 hole stableford event held in warm but blustery weather, saw Dawn Thomas win in A Grade with 18 points followed by Margaret Smith, runner-up 15 points. In B Grade, Maureen Vesey won with 17 points, and with 16 points, Joycie Henderson was runner-up.

Thursday 15th February:

Second round of the women’s Summer Cup produced the following winners: 0-27 Jill Fowler 87-20-67 her second win in this competition, runner-up Janice McKenzie 94-25-69. In the 28-45 division Adele Rowarth won with 96-28-68 and Faith Morrissy was the runner-up for the second time, with 107-38-69. The putting was won in A grade by Janice McKenzie, with 32 putts and in B Grade Sami Oguzhan won with 26 putts.

Monday 12th February:

Women’s 9 hole stableford event. In beautiful sunny weather 18 players took to the course with the following results: A Grade, Dawn Thomas 18 points, Runner-up Mariette Deppeler, on a count-back from Sandra Toone 17 points. B Grade winner Sally Stone had 20 points, with runner-up Maureen Vesey, who also netted a nearest the pin, gaining 18 points.

Thursday 8th February:

First round of the women’s Summer Cup produced the following winners: 0-27 Jill Fowler 87-21-66, runner-up Sandra Toone 94-26-68. In the 28-45 division Martha Macintyre won with 96-32-64 and Faith Morrissy was the runner-up with 106-39-67. The putting was won in A grade by Jill Fowler, in a count-back from Sandra Kent 29 putts and in B Grade Adele Rowarth won with 28 putts.

Monday February 5th:

Women’s 9 hole stroke event. We had a good turn up for this event welcoming back several members who have been unable to play for various reasons, and the weather was perfect for golfing. The A grade winner was Janice McKenzie with 32 ½ nett on a count-back from Dawn Thomas who was runner-up. In B grade Sally Cannon played a great game to win with 31 ½ nett, followed by runner-up Jeanette Dodds with 33 ½ nett. The overall putting decided by a 5 way count-back, was won by Kerryn Wagstaff with 15 putts. The women’s Summer Cup begins Thursday 8th February and is played over 4 rounds finishing 1st March. This is a flexi-time event, so make up your own groups. Pay and fill out the details in the book located in the women’s room before play.

Thursday February 1st:

Women’s opening Day, was an 18 hole Ambrose competition with drawn partners followed by lunch. It was pleasing to see 29 participants, some who were returning after injuries, choosing to play 9 holes, which is an option for those playing on our usual 18 hole competition days. The first putt ceremony was performed by popular member Valerie Johnson, who also made a humorous and fitting speech following her putt.
The winners were Stacey Thomas, Barb Cullen and Jeanette Dodds with 72-13-59. Runners-up were Sandra Kent, Sally Stone, Marie Murnane and Lyn Box with 76-15 ½-60 ½ . The putting trophies went to Dawn Thomas, Martha Macintyre and Jean Hansen with 23 putts. In the 9 hole minor event, 2 teams of 3 had equal gross scores of 40, with the winners being Cheryle Polgeest, Joy Russ and Jan Coleman with 12 nett.

Thursday December 14th:

The women golfers held their Christmas dinner at the clubhouse where major trophies for the year were presented after a lovely meal and some light entertainment. Summer Cup A grade: Adele Rowarth 203 nett, runner-up: Norma Begely 210 nett. B Grade Summer Cup: Mariette Deppeler 209 nett and runner-up with 210 was Faith Morrissy. The Medal of Medalist was won by Vicki Hannah with 68 nett. The silver spoon winner was Stacey Thomas. The Mona McLeod Brooch was won in bronze division by Sandra Toone with +5. Our Club Champion was Vicki Hannah with 274 and runner-up club champion Sandra Kent had 282. The 54 nett winner with 227 was Sandra Toone and Kerryn Wagstaff with 238 was the runner-up. The putting over all in the championship was Sandra Kent with 93 putts. The Stableford Championship winner was Jean Hansen 87 points and on 86 points Sandra Toone was the runner-up. The SWDGA Rene Austin was won by Stacey Thomas with nett 74. The Thursday eclectic trophy in A grade was won by Vicki Hannah with 60/53 nett and in B grade this was won by Cheryle Polgeest with 76/62 nett on a count-back from Adele Rowarth. In the Monday eclectic competition, Sandra Toone won with 27 ¼, and in B grade Faith Morrissy won with 26 ¼ . Putting for the year was won by Marg Smith with 89 putts for Thursday and with 41 putts for the Monday rounds. The most birdies for the year achieved by Vicki Hannah, was 11. Vicki also netted the most gobblers with 11 of those too. Faith Morrissy in B grade had 15 pars for the year- the most in her grade. A special award for the night “The cheeky award” was presented to Caroline Wren – who ably emceed the proceedings, and for reasons not given here, thoroughly deserved the award! Thanks were given to all the office bearers and committee members for doing a great job running the women’s side of golfing.

Thursday December 7th:

This was closing day for the women’s competitions where players donned national costumes from around the world to play 9 holes Ambrose with special rules, followed by lunch and Christmas gifts. The winning team comprised of Vicki Hannah, Mariette Deppeler and Joycie Henderson had nett 34.7. Runners-up were Sandra Toone, Sue McKenzie and Caroline Wren with 36.5 nett. This team also had only 11 putts, but as only one trophy is awarded to a team for the event the putting trophy went to Dawn Thomas, Shirley Amery and Jan Shaw with 12 putts. Jean Hansen, Jeanette Dodds and Janice McKenzie were out of luck with 14 putts, but were awarded a prize for this.

Monday December 4th:

Women’s 9 holes Stableford. In pleasant weather, Dawn Thomas won in A Grade on a count-back from Janice McKenzie with 16 points, who was runner-up. B Grade winner with 18 points, was Sally Stone. Runner-up to Sally was Jean Hansen with 14 points.

Thursday November 30th:

The women held a match play teams competition with the Captain’s team the victors. The extremely muggy weather and threat of torrential rain discouraged many players, which was disappointing. The women’s AGM was held following the event with the committee being elected for the 2018 season. The executive positions of President, Captain, Treasurer and Secretary remain the same as 2017 season. We welcome new committee member Faith Morrissy, who has joined the previous committee members.

Amendment: Women’s President will be Martha MacIntyre and Stacey Thomas will be Vice Captain