Monday December 4th:

Women’s 9 holes Stableford. In pleasant weather, Dawn Thomas won in A Grade on a count-back from Janice McKenzie with 16 points, who was runner-up. B Grade winner with 18 points, was Sally Stone. Runner-up to Sally was Jean Hansen with 14 points.

Sunday December 3rd:

Men’s stroke 18 holes and monthly medal. The winner of this with 65 nett was Ray Matthews and with 69 nett, runner-up was Colin Coleman. Nearest the pin on 1st/10th A grade was Donnyo and in B grade Lance Thomas took the honour.

Saturday December 2nd: Mixed closing day of Gentsomes followed by a roast dinner the golf was cancelled because of the rain, but the dinner was enjoyed by about 30 people after games including Pool, Bowls and Cards.

Thursday November 30th:

The women held a match play teams competition with the Captain’s team the victors. The extremely muggy weather and threat of torrential rain discouraged many players, which was disappointing. The women’s AGM was held following the event with the committee being elected for the 2018 season. The executive positions of President, Captain, Treasurer and Secretary remain the same as 2017 season. We welcome new committee member Faith Morrissy, who has joined the previous committee members.

Amendment: Women’s President will be Martha MacIntyre and Stacey Thomas will be Vice Captain

Wednesday November 29th:

Men’s stroke event: 15 players competed in one grade only. The winner of the 4 week competition was Lance Thomas, who also won the daily competition with a nett 61. Runner up was Bob Bedson with nett 63. In A grade, Don Wagstaff’s accurate driving gained him nearest the pins on both 1st/10th and 9th/18th holes and Alan Rowarth had a nearest the pin on the 1st/10th in B. Grade.

Friday December 1st:

A golf competition and barbecue was held to thank sponsors for their support of the golf club. The winners of this were Holiday Great Ocean Road Accommodation.


Monday 27th November:

Women’s 9 hole Pinehurst produced the following winners: Kerryn Wagstaff, and Faith Morrissy had 46-11 ½ -34 ½ and Runners-up D. Thomas and S. Stone had 47-11 ½-35 ½ . The putting was won by G. Riches and S. Toone with 13 putts.

Sunday November 26th:

Men’s Irish 4-ball stableford: winning team with 81 points comprised of R. Hansen, D. Wagstaff, J. Nankervis and C. Coleman. Runners-up were D. O’Meara, E. Morrissy and A. Rowarth with 77 points.Nearest the pin 1st/10th A Grade was Colin Coleman and on 9th/18th Don O’Meara. In B Grade Bob Hansen had nearest the pin on 1st/10th. Congratulations to Colin Coleman who had an Eagle on the second hole!

Thursday November 23rd:

The women’s 27 hole day held in beautiful sunshine and sponsored generously by the Apollo Bay Bakery, produced the following results, winners receiving their awards from the ever-smiling Sally Cannon. 27 nett A Grade- Vicki Hannah 105, and 27 nett B Grade was won by Sami Oguzhan 113. The 27 gross A Grade was won by Dawn Thomas with 150 and Caroline Wren had 172 gross to win B Grade. Sandra Toone won 18 nett A Grade with 73 and Valerie Johnson won nett B grade on a count-back from Jeanette Dodds with 79 nett. The putting in A Grade was won by Vicki Hannah with 43 putts and in B grade Sami Oguzhan was awarded the putting trophy for 50 putts. Nearest the pin trophies went to Vicki Hannah in A grade and to Sami Oguzhan in B grade. Vicki Hannah was the medal of medallists for the year with a 68 nett. Vicki also represented Apollo Bay in the South Western District Golf Association District A Grade Championships held at Barwon Heads on Monday 20th November. Our congratulations go to Vicki for winning the Audrey McKenzie Salver for the best overall nett score. A well earned achievement for a talented golfer and hard working Apollo Bay Golf Club member.

Wednesday November 22nd:

Men’s 4-weeker stroke event 4th and final round: A Grade was won by Terry Bedford 75-18-57 with runner-up Richard Stone 75-15-59. Nearest the pin on 1st/10th and 9th/18th was the accurate driving Peter Collard. B grade winner Bruce Thomas had nett 65 and runner-up David Ivens scored a nett 64. M. Lavery drove nearest the pin on 1st/10th and Bruce Thomas achieved the same on the 9th/18th hole. The winner over 4 weeks was Bob Bedson with 196 and runner-up David Ivens scored 199.