Monday 9th April:

Women’s 9 hole Gentsomes competition was won by the team of Dawn Thomas and Maureen Vesey with 42 points. Janice McKenzie and Helen Healy were the runners-up with 35 points.

Saturday 7th April:

Mixed 18 holes 4BBB stableford was won by Denis and Faith Morrissy 46 points. Runners-up were Mike and Jeanette Dodds with 44 points on a count-back from Shirley and Bruce Amery and Don and Kerryn Wagstaff. Nearest the pins: 1st/10th Men Don Wagstaff, Women: Kerryn Wagstaff. On 9th/18th Maureen Vesey was closest with her second shot.

Sunday 8th April:

SWGA Pennant Division 6 sponsored by Plum Heating & Cooling Round 3- Handicap division 6 at Bannockburn- Apollo Bay vs. Winchelsea which resulted in a draw 2 ½-2 ½ . Jason Newcombe won 2 up, Bill Buckley won 6/5, David Wagstaff square, Rod Beecroft ¾ loss and John Nankervis 4/5 loss. In division 5, scratch pennant at Queens Park Apollo Bay defeated Queenscliff 4-3. Andrew Hill 6/4 loss, Darren Gill 3/1 win, Bob Bedson 1 up, Don Wagstaff Square, Peter Collard Square, Tim McClelland 8/6 loss and Rocky Dimieri 2/1 win. .
Men’s stroke and monthly medal round was won in A Grade by Geoff Vesey with nett 65 and runner-up Ray Matthews also had 65 nett. In B Grade Bob Hansen won with 66 nett on a count-back from runner-up Lance Thomas 66 nett. The monthly medals were won by Geoff Vesey and Ray Matthews. Nearest the pin 1st/10th in A Grade was Ed Morrissy and in B grade Colin Wilson.

Thursday 5th April:

The women played an 18-hole Stableford competition which in A Grade was won by Norma Begely with 39 points. Runner-up was Adele Rowarth with 32 points, on a count-back from Vicki Hannah and Dawn Thomas. In B Grade, the winner was Jeanette Dodds with 35 points and runner-up was Robyn Lamson on a count-back from Sami Oguzhan both with 31 points. The only player nearest the pin was Marie Murnane.

Wednesday 4th April:

3-man Ambrose competition was won by Chris Hansen, Doug Hall and Ian Richardson 65/53 5/6 with runners-up team Larry Redman, Peter Forbes and Geoff Vesey scoring 63/ 54 1/6. Nearest the pin A grade on 1st/10th hole was Brian McKenzie and on 9th/18th Doug Honey was the nearest. In B grade George Harrison had NTP on 9th/18th hole.

Thursday 29th March:

The women played an 18-hole Pinehurst round in pleasant but overcast weather. The winners of the competition were Lyn Box and Stacey Thomas with 85-15 ¾ -69 ¼ and runners-up were Norma Begely and Jean Hansen with 94-23 5/8 -70 3/8 . Nearest the pin winners were Jenny McKeon in A Grade and Marriette Deppeler in B grade. Putting over all was won by Joycie Henderson and Sandra Kent. Four women played 9 holes only and the winner of this competition was Cheryle Polgeest with 15 stableford points.
No official competitions were held over Easter.

Wednesday 28th March:

Final week of the men’s 4-weeker. In A Grade Jason Newcombe, won with 63 nett and runner-up Geoff Vesey, who also had a nearest the pin on 9th/18 scored 65 nett which required a count-back from Chris Hansen. Brian McKenzie was nearest the pin for A grade on the 1st/10th hole and Bruce Thomas was nearest in B Grade. The daily winner for B grade was Dick McGrath who had an impressive 57 nett, followed by Ian Robinson, runner-up with 63 nett. The 4 week winner with 192 nett was Geoff Vesey and runner-up Colin Coleman scored a 195 nett.

Monday 26th March:

Women’s 9 holes 2-person Ambrose was cancelled because of heavy rain and wind.

Sunday 25th March:

18 holes stableford. 9 men contested this event with winner Ken Johnson 35 points and Don O’Meara runner-up, 32 points. The only player nearest the pin was Ray Matthews on 1st/10th hole.
Men’s handicap pennant Division 6, sponsored by Plumb Heating & Cooling resulted in a win for Colac 4 to 1. In the Apollo Bay team John Nankervis was 1 down, David Wagstaff had a 4/3 win, Jason Newcombe 5/4 loss, Bill Buckley 3/1 loss and David Ivens a 3/2 loss.
In the men’s scratch pennant Division 5 sponsored by Plumb Heating and Cooling, round 2 at the Geelong Golf Club Apollo Bay v. Ocean Grove resulted in a 5 ½ to 1 ½ win for Apollo Bay. Wins to: Andrew Hill 6/5, Darren Gill 5/4, Don Wagstaff 4/3, Colin Coleman 4/3 and Rocky Dimieri 2/1. Peter Collard squared his match and bad luck for Bob Bedson 4/3 down.

Friday 23rd March:

Women’s Otway Pennant. The very impressive course of Torquay was the venue for the last round. Our opponent Ocean Grove won 3 ½ to 1 1/2. Jean Hansen was excited to win 1 up on the 18th hole and Martha Macintyre had a close finish and squared her match. Our other players stretched their opponents with close matches too. Lyn Box 3/2, Sandra Toone 3/1 and Faith Morrissy 2/1. Congratulations to Clifton Springs on winning the pennant flag after defeating their closest rival Lorne.