June Tournament

Mon. 12th Jun 2017 – “Rod Caithness” Mixed 4BBB

Sponsored by Holiday Great Ocean Road

Won by Sandra Toone and Ian Richardson with 47 points. Winners had left so only have a photo of the runners up Debbie and Doug Biggs.

Mon. 12th Jun 2017 – Men’s 2 Man Ambrose

Sponsored by Great Ocean Road Brewhouse

Won by G. and W. Westwick 57 nett and runners-up were P. Collard and K. Rixon with 58 nett. Best gross score of 65 was won by W. Handow and A. Connell on a count-back from runners-up D. Elliott and N. Hinds. Nearest the pin 1st/10th was A. Connell for A grade, and in B Grade P. Forbes was successful. On 9th/18th C. Doolan was the accurate one.

Sun. 11th Jun 2017 – Men’s 27 Hole Open Championship

Sponsored by Apollo Bay Community Bendigo Bank

The A Grade Winner with the best gross score over 27 holes was Matthew Silk, Gardner’s Run, with 102. Runner-up was Ross McFarlane, Barwon Valley, with 103. 27 Nett winner was Michael Hedger, Winchelsea, with 96 Nett, while Toby Sauni, Winchelsea, was runner-up with 97 ½ Nett. The 18 hole Nett winner was Gary Westwick, Cranbourne, on a count-back from Andrew Connell 64 nett. Nearest the pin on 1st/10th/19th was Gary Westwick, and on the 9th/18th/27th it was Simon Trickey. The Longest Drive was awarded to Ryley Westwick. In B Grade, Neil Hinds, Apollo Bay, won the 27 hole event with 112 gross, followed by Paul Collins, Werribee, with 121. The 27 nett winner was Harvey Otter 101½ and Don O’Meara was runner-up with 102½ . The 18 hole nett winner was Rocky Dimieri with 68 nett. Nearest the pin 1st/10th/19th was Geoff Vesey and on 9th/18th/27th it was Richard Stone. Patrick Rink had the longest drive. In the C Grade 27 holes event John Nankervis Apollo Bay won with 122 gross, with Ed Body, Winchelsea, runner-up on 123. 27 nett winner was Peter Forbes, Apollo Bay, with 97 nett and runner-up was David Wagstaff, Apollo Bay, on 100½ nett. The 18 hole nett winner was Doug Biggs, Ivanhoe, with 69 nett. Nearest the pin 1st/10th/19th was Ed Body and the longest drive was achieved by Dean Elliott. The Aylward trophy for best 27 nett went to John Nankervis 96, on a count-back from Michael Hedger. Post teams event went to Winchelsea players, M. Hedger, T. Sauni and E. Body with 188 nett.

Sat. 10th June 2017 – Mixed Pinehurst

Sponsored by Smyth’s Real Estate

The winners were Marion and Colin Venn with 75-12 3/8 – nett 62 5/8 and runners-up, Stacey Thomas and Michael Hedger scored 73-8 5/8- 64 3/8. Winners of the best gross score were Caroline Dickins and John Owen with 70 off the stick. Peta Campbell and Scott Fowler were runners-up with gross 78. Nearest the pin on 1st/10th for the women was Jill Fowler and for the men Jamie Campbell. On 9th/18th Stacey Thomas took the honour for the women and Michael Hedger for the men players.

Sat. 10th June 2017 – Men’s 18 Hole Stableford

Sponsored by Apollo Bay Building Group

In A Grade this was won by Matthew Silk, 0, 42 points, and on 40 points Guy Holman,8, was runner-up. Next best was Patrick Rink, 12, 39 points. Nearest the pin on 1st/10 was Ian Dickason and on the 9th/18th hole, Guy Holman.

In B grade, Lance Thomas, 27, won with 36 points and Brian Humphries, 17, was runner-up on 34 points. Charlie Fitzpatrick, 28, was next best with 33 points. B grade nearest the pins were Tom O’Halloran on 1st/10th and Ken Johnson on 9th/18th.

Fri. 9th June 2017 – Women’s 27 hole Open Championship

Sponsored by Community Care Chemist

The winner of this was Marion Venn, 10, from Terang with 119. Runner-up was Vicki Hannah, 14, Apollo Bay with 132. The 27 holes Nett went to Fiona Fitzpatrick, 18, from East Geelong with 111, followed by Peta Campbell, 14, from Metropolitan who was runner-up. 18 holes Nett winner was Stacey Thomas, 15, Apollo Bay with 75. Nearest the pin A grade on 1st/10th/19th was Marion Venn and the longest drive on the 5th hole in A grade was Vicki Hannah, Apollo Bay. In B Grade 27 holes gross was won by Kathryn Robertson, 21, from Peterborough with 136. Runner-up representing Metropolitan, was Jill Fowler, 21 with 138. 27 holes Nett winner, from Terang, was Vicki Philp, 21, with 109 ½. Janice McKenzie 24, Apollo Bay, was runner-up with 115 Nett. The winner of 18 holes Nett was Carol Doran, 21, Queen’s Park with 73. Nearest the pin on 1st/10th/19th was Debbie O’Shannessy and the longest drive was claimed by Karen Matheson. The C grade 27 holes Gross prize, was awarded to Sue McKenzie, 27, Apollo Bay, with 157. The runner-up was Martha Macintyre 28, Apollo Bay on 164. The 27 hole Nett winner was Jan Shaw, 32 with 118, and on 122 ½ was Jean Hansen 41. Sami Oguzhan, 33, won the 18 holes Nett with 81. The longest drive was Sue McKenzie. The best overall 27 holes Nett, which was sponsored and awarded by valued past member Shirley Crane, was Marion Venn from Terang with 104 Nett. The post teams’ event was won by Marion Venn, Vicki Philp, Jan Shaw and Kathryn Robertson with 286.

Thu. 8th Jun 2017 – Women’s 18 Holes 4BBB Stableford

Sponsored by Great Ocean Properties

Won by Jan Shaw, 32 and B. Stinchcombe, 25, with 40 points. Vicki Philp, 21, and Marion Venn 10, were runners-up on a count-back from C. Bartholomew and C. Angus 37 points. Best 9 in, were M. Clements and J. Delany on a count-back from J. Flitton and C. Doran with 20 points. Best 9 out, were C. Bartholomew and C. Angus on a count-back from S. McKenzie and N. Begely and S. Kearton and J. Hansen all with 19 points. Nearest the pin on 1st/10th hole 0-26 was Jill Fowler and 27-45 handicap Sue McKenzie.


Wed. 7th Jun 2017 – Men’s 4BBB Stableford

Sponsored by Forty Winks Ballarat

Won by Michael Hedger 8, and Rod Batson 29, with a wonderful score of 51 points. Just 1 point behind, on 50 points, were the runner’s-up Bob Bedson 8, and David Hand 19. The next best team was Bewley Marlow, 25, and Bernie Coller, 16, with 44 points. Nearest the pin on 1st/10th in A Grade was Rob Kearton and in B grade David Hand. Rob Kearton was also the most accurate on the 9th/18th and Lance Thomas was nearest the pin in B Grade. The longest drive in A grade was awarded to Bob Bedson and in B Grade Bill Buckley.